## **Ryan White EMA Planning Council**

New Haven and Fairfield Counties



#### Raphael Muniz & Jackie Robertson, Co-Chairs

#### Membership/ Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: Friday, May 13, 2016

**Start Time:** 10:51am **End Time:** 11:28 pm

**Location:** Burrough's Community Center

**Presiding Chair:** Jackie Robertson **Recorder:** Sara Seaburg

#### **Summary of Committee Votes**

• Approval of April 15, 2016 Meeting Minutes

#### **Council Member Assignments**

- Attend Committee/Council meetings as outlined in the Council By-Laws
- Recruit/Promote Planning Council to increase PLWHA participation

#### **Staff Member Assignments**

- Facilitate Council Membership Process
- Maintain Attendance Records for all meetings
- Maintain Council Reflectiveness "Grid"

#### (1.0) Moment of Silence

Jackie called the meeting to order at 10:51 am. A moment of silence was observed in recognition of all who have been affected by HIV/AIDS.

#### (1.0) Welcome and Introduction

All participants introduced themselves.

#### (2.0) Co-Chair Announcements

- Jackie reminded everyone that meetings are now recorded.
- We have received 1 application for the Planning Council Co-Chair position. Roberta Stewart's term is ending on 6/30/2016 and she has re-applied for another term for Planning Council Co-Chair VOTE

Joanne Montgomery made a motion to move into executive session to discuss the application for PC Co-Chair and the application for PC membership where attendance requirements have been met and Roberta Stewart seconded it.

For: (8) Robertson, Sanchez, Stewart, Jenkins, Cole, Muniz, Montgomery, Kelly

Against: (0) Abstain: (0)

Joanne Montgomery made a motion to come out of executive session and Ralphie Muniz seconded it.

## **Ryan White EMA Planning Council**

New Haven and Fairfield Counties



#### Raphael Muniz & Jackie Robertson, Co-Chairs

For: (8) Robertson, Sanchez, Stewart, Jenkins, Cole, Muniz, Montgomery, Kelly, Ardila

Against: (0) Abstain: (0)

Joanne Montgomery made a motion to approve the application for PC Co-Chair of Roberta Stewart and Chris Cole seconded it.

For: (8) Robertson, Sanchez, Jenkins, Cole, Muniz, Montgomery, Kelly, Ardila

Against: (0)

Abstain: (1) Stewart

Roberta Stewart made a motion to approve the application for PC membership of Gerald Lewis and Roberta Stewart seconded it.

For: (9) Robertson, Sanchez, Stewart, Jenkins, Cole, Muniz, Montgomery, Kelly, Ardila

Against: (0) Abstain: (0)

#### (3.0) Approval of April 15, 2016 Meeting Minutes -

A motion to approve the April 15, 2016 minutes was made by Roberta Stewart and seconded by Joanne Montgomery.

For: (6) Robertson, Sanchez, Stewart, Jenkins, Cole, Ardila

Against: (0)

Abstain: (3) Muniz, Montgomery, Kelly

#### (4.0) New Business/Old Business

#### a. Review Membership/Finance Planning Council Activity Timeline (PCAT)

The Committee reviewed the PCAT and determined it was on target with all assigned activities.

#### b. Manage the Membership Application Process

This was already discussed above

#### c. Review PC Member Attendance

The Committee reviewed this year's attendance for the Planning Council and committee meetings and all members are accurately reported. There are 2 attendees who will fall of the Planning Council due to (5) absences. Letters were sent by staff to these individuals concerning this.

#### d. Analyze PC Membership for Federal Reflectiveness Mandate

The committee analyzed Planning Council membership for the Federal Reflectiveness Mandate. There are a couple of areas where we need to focus on. The Non-Conflicted HIV Status target is greater than 33% and our current percentage is 25%.

# \*\*

#### Raphael Muniz & Jackie Robertson, Co-Chairs

#### e. Assist with the Membership Recruitment Campaign

Ralphie offered to lead a working group within this committee to help us with Membership. The focus group discussion also came up. Once the reflectiveness numbers are in for June, we will have a better understanding of what areas we need to focus on.

#### f. Grantee Report

Tom Butcher gave this report:

• They had a series of meetings last week focusing on the state of emergency of the epidemic of African American Gay Men. They discussed a vision and strategies for ending the epidemic. This is occurring simultaneously while developing the Comprehensive Plan and this will be included in the plan. CIRA would like to participate in this process as well and define the tasks that each contributing group will be responsible for.

#### (5.0) Open Parking Lot Item Regarding Planning Council Feedback

- Question #4 remove environment
- Comments change to 'your feelings/comments/concerns'
- Add questions regarding committee reports: Was the information presented during the Membership committee report clear and understandable. Yes/No, any questions?
- Please change #5 remove interesting and add another word, helpful.
- Please add a comment box at the end for feelings/comments/concerns

#### (6.0) Parking Lot Items

ITEM	STATUS
Refresh/Redesign the PC feedback form in the New	Staff will prepare a proposed feedback form using
Year	Survey Monkey specific to each Planning Council meeting. The feedback survey will be presented at
	the April M/F for approval. The updated feedback form was presented on 5/13 and updates were requested. Staff will make these changes and
	present this at the June meeting.

#### (7.0) Announcements

• The next meeting will take place on June 10, 2016 from 10:30am – 11:30am.

#### (8.0) Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:28 am

# Ryan White EMA Planning Council New Haven and Fairfield Counties



# Raphael Muniz & Jackie Robertson, Co-Chairs

Membership Finance Committee Attendance Record – 2016

	Council Member	Jan	Feb	March	April	May	June	Aug	Sept	Oct	Nov
1.	Inthiany Ardila	-	-	Х	Х	Х					
2.	Bradford Briggs	-	-	-	Α	Α					
3.	Chris Cole PC Co-Chair	Α	Α	Х	Х	Χ					
4.	Sabrina Delgado	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
5.	Heather Garofalo	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
6.	Heidi Jenkins	Χ	Α	Χ	Χ	Χ					
7.	Pat Kelly	Α	Χ	Χ	Α	Χ					
8.	Tom Kidder	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
9.	Joanne Montgomery	Χ	Χ	Χ	Α	Χ					
10.	Raphael Muniz Co-Chair	Α	Χ	Α	Α	Χ					
11.	Alex Ortiz	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
12.	Johny Rivera	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
13.	Jackie Robertson Co-Chair	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ					
14.	Christine Romanik	Χ	Α	Х	Х	Α					
15.	Mark Sanchez	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ					
16.	Roberta Stewart PC Co-Chair	Χ	Χ	Χ	Х	Χ					
17.	Charlotte Teel	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
18.	Ken Teel	Α	Α	Α	Χ	Α					
19.	Lauren Tierney	Α	Α	Α	Α	Α					
20.	Dennis Torres	Α	Χ	Α	Α	Α					
21.	Ryan White Office	Χ	Х	Х	Χ	Χ					
	Planning Council Staff	Χ	Х	Х	Χ	Χ					
	% of Council present:	33%	39%	47%	40%	45%					

Guests: Gerald Lewis, Ron Raus, Linda Staywell