Ryan White EMA Planning Council

New Haven and Fairfield Counties



Adaline DeMarrais and Caesar Moffett, Jr, Co-Chairs

Membership/ Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: Thursday, March 1, 2012

Start Time: 12:05 **End Time:** 1:35

Location: Burroughs Community Center

Presiding Chair: Adaline DeMarrais **Recorder:** Kyle Linnemeyer

Summary of Committee Votes

Approval of February meeting minutes

- Move two applications forward to meet meeting requirements
- Move one application forward to the Planning Council
- Motion for SPA to put residence requirements for a person to be eligible to be a member of the Planning Council

Council Member Assignments

- Attend Committee/Council meetings as outlined in the Council By-Laws
- Recruit/Promote Planning Council to increase PLWHA participation

Staff Member Assignments

- Facilitate Council Membership Process
- · Maintain Attendance Records for all meetings
- · Maintain Council Reflectiveness "Grid"

(1.0) Moment of Silence

Adaline DeMarrais called the meeting to order at 12:05 pm. A moment of silence was observed in recognition of all who have been affected by HIV/AIDS

(2.0) Welcome and Introduction

All participants introduced themselves.

(3.0) Co-Chair Announcements

None

(4.0) Approval of February 2, 2012 Meeting Minutes

A motion to approve the minutes was made by Roberta Stewart and seconded by Beverly Leach.

For: Datcher, Leach, Stewart, Kuerze, Moffet

Against: None Abstain: DeMarrais Not Present: Cousar

(5.0) New Business/Old Business

a. Review Membership/Finance PCAT

The Committee reviewed the PCAT and determined it was on target with all assigned activities.

b. Assist with Membership Recruitment Campaign

The Committee decided that having an Open House in Waterbury in November and trying to attract the Hispanic population would be best to maintain reflectiveness and would work well as November is

Ryan White EMA Planning Council

New Haven and Fairfield Counties

Adaline DeMarrais and Caesar Moffett, Jr, Co-Chairs

a light month in the Scope of Work.

c. Manage Membership Application Process

Roberta Stewart made a motion to go into Executive Session for the purpose of reviewing Membership Applications. Brian Datcher seconded the motion.

For: Cousar, Datcher, Kuerze, Moffet, Leach, Stewart

Against: None
Abstain: DeMarrais
Not Present:

Roberta Stewart made a motion to come out of Executive Session. Ceasar Moffet Jr. seconded the motion.

For: Cousar, Datcher, Kuerze, Moffet, Leach, Stewart

Against: None
Abstain: DeMarrais
Not Present:

Brian Datcher made a motion for SPA to put into the By-Laws that for a person to be eligible to become a member of the Planning Council that he or she must either live within the EMA or fulfill a HRSA mandated position. Brian Kuerze seconded the motion.

For: Cousar, Datcher, Kuerze, Moffet, Leach

Against: None

Abstain: Stewart, DeMarrais

Not Present:

Roberta Stewart made a motion to move two applications forward in the process to attend one Committee meeting and one Planning Council meeting. Brian Datcher seconded that motion.

For: Cousar, Datcher, Kuerze, Moffet, Leach, Stewart

Against: None
Abstain: DeMarrais
Not Present:

Roberta Stewart made a motion to move one application forward to the Planning Council as this individual has met the application criteria. Brian Datcher seconded the motion.

For: Cousar, Datcher, Kuerze, Moffet, Leach, Stewart

Against: None
Abstain: DeMarrais
Not Present:

d. Review Planning Council Feedback/Feedback Form

The Committee reviewed the Planning Council Feedback Form from the February 10, 2012 Planning Council meeting. The Committee felt that during the public comment section, consumer questions weren't getting adequately answered. A motion was made for the Executive Committee to discuss a better idea of how the Planning Council can answer questions and resolve issues brought up during public comment.

e. Provide Membership Trainings as Needed

Discussion occurred that it is the Executive Committee that provides Membership Training, not the Membership/Finance Committee. It currently shows in the PCAT that providing Membership Training

Ryan White EMA Planning Council

New Haven and Fairfield Counties



Adaline DeMarrais and Caesar Moffett, Jr, Co-Chairs

belongs to the Membership/Finance Committee. It was resolved to discuss this at the March Executive Committee meeting

f. Analyze PC Membership for Federal Reflectiveness Mandate

The Council is at 35% non-conflicted consumer with a goal of 33%. The Committee is still seeking a Medicaid Representative as well as Hispanic, non-conflicted consumers. The reflectiveness has become much more compliant with African Americans. The Gender composition is compliant with the reflectiveness with males at 65% and females at 35%.

(6.0) Grantee Report:

Gail Glenn gave the following report

Gail informed the committee about the FULL Notice of Grant Award (NGA). The amount received is \$6,994,725.00 representing a 2.8% decrease from last year. The funds will be distributed all at once. The Ryan White Office is finalizing contracts with the Lead Agencies from each region. During next month's meetings the Ryan White Office will give a full report on 2011 expenditures.

(7.0) Announcements

There were no announcements

(8.0) Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.

Ryan White EMA Planning Council New Haven and Fairfield Counties



Adaline DeMarrais and Caesar Moffett, Jr, Co-Chairs

Attendance Record – 2012

	Council Member	1/5	2/2	3/1	4/5	5/3	7/12	8/2	9/6	10/4	11/1	12/6
1.	Ric Browne	, -	,	,	, -							
2.	Kenneth Cousar			Х								
3.	Michael Contreras											
4.	Brian Datcher	Х	Х	Χ								
5.	Adaline DeMarrais Co-Chair	Х	Х	Х								
6.	Heidi Jenkins											
7.	Tom Kidder	Х	Х									
8.	Brian Kuerze		Χ	Χ								
9.	Beverly Leach PC Co-Chair	Χ	Χ	Χ								
10.	Andrew Lyons	Χ										
11.	Leif Mitchell PC Co-Chair	Х	Х									
12.	Caesar Moffett, Jr. Co-Chair	Х		Χ								
13.	Ken Teel											
14.	Joanne Montgomery											
15.	Cedric Reid	Х										
16.	Christine Romanik											
17.	Gabrielle Rosa											
18.	Robert Sideleau											
19.	Roberta Stewart		Х	Χ								
20.	Dennis Torres	Х										
	Ryan White Office	Х	Х	Х								
	Planning Council Staff	Х	Х	Χ								
	% of Council present:	45%	35%	35%								